06
Aug
06

Caffeine damage

Spider Web

In 1995, NASA’s Dr. David Noever and his fellow researchers at the Marshall Space Flight Center studied the webs spun by common house spiders (Araneus diadematus) dosed with several drugs, including LSD, marijuana, benzedrine, chloral hydrate and caffeine. The more toxic the drug, the less organized the web the spider created.

The spider on marijuana drifted off before finishing the job. The spider on benzedrine, an upper, worked energetically but without much planning. The spider dosed with chloral hydrate, a sedative, soon fell asleep.

To the surprise of Dr. Noever et al, caffeine did the most damage of all the substances tested. The spider dosed with it proved incapable of creating even a single organized cell, and its web showed no sign of the “hub and spokes” pattern fundamental to conventional web design.

What does the web of a caffeinated spider (which can hardly be accustomed to the jolt of a morning latte) have to do with human behavior? Unlikely as it sounds, it may be the most vivid illustration of caffeine’s disorienting effect on caffeine-sensitive people, many of whom may be misdiagnosed as mentally ill:

“Caffeine-induced psychosis, whether it be delirium, manic depression, schizophrenia, or merely an anxiety syndrome, in most cases will be hard to differentiate from other organic or non-organic psychoses….The treatment for caffeine-induced psychosis is to withhold further caffeine.”

Clinical Management of Poisoning and Drug Overdose, 3rd ed., 1998
Michael W. Shannon, MD, MPH,
Director, Lead and Toxicology Clinic, The Children’s Hospital; Associate Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School; Staff Toxicologist, Massachusetts Poison Control System; Lester M. Haddad, MD, Clinical Professor in Family Medicine, Medical University of South Carolina; Emergency Physician and Active Staff, Bon Secours St. Francis Xavier Hospital; James F. Winchester, MD, Professor of Medicine, Division of Nephrology, Georgetown University Medical Center.

Source: The Caffeine Web


33 Responses to “Caffeine damage”


  1. 1 scorpioyue
    August 6, 2006 at 5:28 pm

    That could be a reason to stay away from caffeine. :p

  2. August 6, 2006 at 11:41 pm

    Coffee is life! No coffee, no life.

  3. August 10, 2006 at 2:41 am

    The notion that the behaviour of a particular chelicerata’s nervous system under the influence of neurotransmitter-like psychoactives says anything whatsoever about the behaviour of H. sapiens is fantasy.

    When it comes to neurotransmitters, we may use very similar molecules as spiders, but we use them for very different purposes.

  4. August 10, 2006 at 12:08 pm

    That is true. I’ve never come across anything that related coffee to a specific damage to humans, although some say it can cause stress, rise in heart attack risk and rise in blood sugar levels, which ultimately can lead to some kind of behaviour alteration. That’s very unlikely, though. Some people get hyper, others focussed, but then it depends on the person. Some don’t feel anything at all.

    Still, it’s funny to see how spiders react to it. That’s why one shouldn’t dope the poor things.^^

  5. 5 Proud Mary Entertainment
    September 6, 2009 at 11:27 pm

    Hello,
    New here. Thanks

    Mary Aloe
    Proud Mary Entertainment

  6. 6 Lance
    November 22, 2010 at 3:45 pm

    Caffeine is present in some plants (coffee, tea) to ward off or kill insects. Caffeine is a nerve agent. No wonder the spider had a hard time with it.

    Caffeine has also been associated with pancreatic cancer and diabetes in mice and humans. In diabetes, the beta cells in the pancreas are slowly destroyed by caffeine, resulting in type 1 (insulin dependent) diabetes.

    I stopped all consumption of caffeine (coffee, tea, soda, chocolate) 3 weeks ago, (after 40 years of drinking multiple cups every day), and I feel very good now. The first 3-4 days after stopping my intake, I could feel slight withdrawal symptoms. For the first 5 days, I used a taper-down technique to quit, rather than do it cold turkey, but it wasn’t hard to do.

    I recommend you give life a try without caffeine because it could greatly benefit to your health.

  7. May 14, 2011 at 7:42 am

    I can’t seem to access this post from my smartphone!!!

  8. May 3, 2013 at 1:04 am

    Morgan Right Thomas C. When we how to make skin whitening cream at home spend money but when
    you get reallybored. With the addition of NetSpend, we believe
    that we can continue measuring the cognition at longer time points, three months,
    and 34% after 36 months, compared with 30% for American women.

    Once known in the U.

  9. May 10, 2013 at 1:31 am

    Hi there just came upon your website from Yahoo after
    I entered in, “Caffeine damage | Iblis” or something
    similar (can’t quite remember exactly). In any case, I’m happy
    I found it because your subject material is exactly what
    I’m searching for (writing a college paper) and I hope you don’t mind if I collect some material from
    here and I will of course credit you as the reference.
    Thank you.

  10. May 14, 2013 at 1:02 pm

    Hi there to every single one, it’s truly a good for me to pay a visit this website, it contains priceless Information.

  11. May 28, 2013 at 3:43 am

    Heya great website! Does running a blog such as this take
    a great deal of work? I’ve no understanding of programming but I was hoping to start my own blog soon. Anyways, should you have any recommendations or techniques for new blog owners please share. I understand this is off topic nevertheless I just wanted to ask. Appreciate it!

  12. May 30, 2013 at 2:09 am

    After looking over a few of the blog articles on your site, I honestly like your way of blogging.
    I saved as a favorite it to my bookmark site list and will be checking back soon.
    Please visit my website too and let me know your opinion.

  13. June 9, 2013 at 11:06 pm

    Thanks for a marvelous posting! I definitely enjoyed reading it, you’re a great author.I will make certain to bookmark your blog and will often come back down the road. I want to encourage you continue your great work, have a nice evening!

  14. June 12, 2013 at 7:01 am

    Heya are using WordPress for your blog platform? I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get started and create my own.

    Do you need any coding knowledge to make your own blog?
    Any help would be really appreciated!

  15. June 13, 2013 at 8:01 am

    Hey! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could get a captcha plugin for my
    comment form? I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

  16. June 14, 2013 at 3:48 am

    Hello, yes this article is truly fastidious and
    I have learned lot of things from it about blogging.
    thanks.

  17. June 21, 2013 at 1:36 pm

    excellent put up, very informative. I’m wondering why the opposite experts of this sector do not understand this. You must proceed your writing. I am confident, you’ve a great readers’ base already!

  18. June 26, 2013 at 2:06 am

    Hi! I’m at work surfing around your blog from my new iphone! Just wanted to say I love reading your blog and look forward to all your posts! Keep up the excellent work!

  19. July 18, 2013 at 11:56 am

    I am curious to find out what blog system you happen
    to be using? I’m having some small security issues with my latest site and I would like to find something more safeguarded. Do you have any suggestions?

  20. July 19, 2013 at 3:47 am

    Today, I went to the beach with my kids. I found a sea shell
    and gave it to my 4 year old daughter and said “You can hear the ocean if you put this to your ear.”
    She placed the shell to her ear and screamed.
    There was a hermit crab inside and it pinched her ear.
    She never wants to go back! LoL I know this is completely off topic but I had to tell someone!

  21. July 21, 2013 at 1:05 am

    Same food is good for oily and acne prone skin is an issue you
    deal with, some people may find white hair follicle his arguments old-fashioned and out-of-touch.
    He said, I don’t want to make new friends, please visit white hair follicle a local fan club. A harsh, painful shudder wracks my white hair follicle body.

  22. August 10, 2013 at 7:37 pm

    Your mode of explaining all in this piece of writing is really pleasant, every one be able to effortlessly be
    aware of it, Thanks a lot.

  23. 23 tu
    December 7, 2013 at 11:00 pm

    At the minute porcelain bowl delivers the a large number of
    gains within the market

  24. March 1, 2014 at 8:14 pm

    I hardly create remarks, but i did a few searching and wound up here Caffeine damage | Iblis.
    And I actually do have 2 questions for you if it’s allright.
    Could it be only me or does it look like some of the remarks appear like they are written by
    brain dead folks? 😛 And, if you are writing
    on other sites, I’d like to keep up with anything new you have to post.
    Would you make a list of every one of your community sites like
    your linkedin profile, Facebook page or twitter feed?

  25. March 3, 2014 at 8:03 am

    Somebody essentially lend a hand to make severely articles I’d state.

    This is the first time I frequented your website page and thus far?
    I amazed with the research you made to make this actual put up amazing.

    Magnificent task!

  26. May 15, 2014 at 10:53 am

    Hi, always i used to check web site posts here early in the break of day,
    as i love to find out more and more.

  27. June 11, 2014 at 9:57 pm

    Why visitors still make use of tto reaqd news papers when in this technological gloe everything is accessible on web?

  28. October 11, 2014 at 10:18 am

    Shopper Approved is based on the powerful concept called ‘social proof’, which states that:

    When a potential customer goes online to buy a product or service, they actually want and actively
    look for reassurance that they’re making the right decision. And the way they get that
    assurance is
    from other customers’ ratings, feedback, and reviews.

    This is why statistically, 77% of online shoppers turn to consumer reviews before they decide to buy!

    There’s a reason why Amazon, eBay, Sears,
    and pretty much every other major ecommerce site have customer
    ratings and reviews integrated into their website.
    It’s because online reviews have been proven to increase
    conversion, increase average transaction amounts, improve customer
    satisfaction, and even lower product
    returns!

    Check Out The Link In Signature

  29. January 3, 2015 at 11:46 pm

    Fantastic post but I was wondering if you could write a litte more on this subject?

    I’d be very thankful if you could elaborate a
    little bit more. Bless you!

  30. January 8, 2015 at 3:13 am

    Hi my family member! I wish to say that this article is awesome,
    nice written and include approximately all vital infos.
    I would like to see more posts like this .


Leave a comment


Random

The year's at the spring,
And day's at the morn;
Morning's at seven;
The hill-side's dew-pearled;
The lark's on the wing;
The snail's on the thorn;
God's in his Heaven -
All's right with the world!